Our team

The Global Distributors Collective is hosted by Practical Action, alongside strategic and implementing partner Bopinc.

We are governed by a Steering Committee, which consists of representatives from implementing partners, and guided by an Advisory Council, comprised of member representatives and sector experts. Members are heavily involved in planning, implementing and evaluating all GDC activities. As the sector and our membership evolves, we are actively exploring other governance options to ensure that we are fit-for-purpose in the longer term.

We also have a range of supporting partners who provide advice, support and help shape the work of the GDC – and we help them more effectively engage with and support last mile distributors.

Implementing partners undertake other projects and consultancies in the last mile distribution sector, which helps to build knowledge and networks that partners can bring to the GDC. Implementing partners do not use information or contacts gained through the GDC in other work, and all data provided by GDC members to implementing partners is kept confidential.

The team


Emma Colenbrander

Jessica Utichi

Charlotte Taylor

Dennis Owino Onono

May Joy Namulembwa

Charlie Miller

Federico Hinrichs

Emile Schmitz

Gerwin Jansen

Samwel Odhiambo

Advisory Council

The GDC Advisory Council advises on the overall strategy and direction of the GDC, as well as providing feedback and guidance on specific workstreams. The Advisory Council comprises four member representatives and five representatives from the wider sector.

Member Representatives

Esther Altorfer

Jim Ayala

Russell Lyseight

Shani Senbetta

Linda Wamune

Sector Experts

Buks Akinseye

Sarah Bieber

Christine Eibs Singer

Saul Morris

Daniel Waldron

A big ‘thank you’ to the members of our first Advisory Council, who provided us with invaluable guidance and support in 2019 and 2020. This includes:

Member representatives

  • Katherine Lucey (Solar Sister)
  • Jackie Stenson (Essmart)
  • Malango Washikala (Altech Group)
  • Philip Wilson (Ecofiltro)

Sector experts

  • Christine Eibs Singer – continuing in 2021
  • Peter George (Clean Cooking Alliance)
  • Maurice Kent (USAID)
  • Saul Morris (GAIN) – continuing in 2021
  • Peter van As (COPIA)

Find out more